Ancient

The Presocratics

The Milesians Thales Anaximander Anaximenes

Heraclitus

Atomists

Pythagoras

The Sophists

The Eleatic School Parmenides Zeno Melissus

Qualitative Pluralists Empedocles Anaxagoras

> Leucippus Democritus

Protagoras

Gorgias Antiphon



Socrates (470-399 BCE)



Plato (428-348 BCE)



The Antikythera Mechanism, a sophisticated astronomical computer, is built in approximately 79 CE

The Hellenistic Schools

The Epicureans

The Stoics

The Skeptics

The Romans

Cicero (106-43 BC) Lucretius (94-55 BC) Seneca (4 BC - 65 AD) Plutarch (45-120 AD) Epictetus (55-135 AD)

Marcus Aurelius (121-180 AD)

The Metaphysical Turn "What is the fundamental nature of reality?"

Aristotle (384-322 BCE)



3. How is freedom of the will compatible with Divine Foreknowledge?

Modern



Descartes (1596-1650)

Pascal constructs a gear-driven adding machine, the "Pascalene", in 1642.



Spinoza (1632-1677)



Hobbes (1588-1679)

The Epistemic Turn "What can we *know* about the fundamental nature of reality?"



Pascal (1623-1662)

Modern



Leibnitz (1646-1716)



Berkeley (1685-1753)

Mathematician and Engineer Charles Babbage designs and partly builds the Difference Engine. Work ceased in 1834. By 1835 Babbage had designed the Analytical Engine, a primitive programmable computer which he never built.



Babbage (1791-1871)



Hume (1711-1776)



Leibnitz constructs a mechanical calculator, the "Stepped Reckoner", in 1674.





The Difference Engine

Kant (1724-1804)

Contemporary



Boole (1815-1864)



Frege (1848-1925)



Russell (1872-1970)

Boole publishes "An Investigation of the Laws of Thought, on Which are Founded the Mathematical Theories of Logic and Probabilities", which develops what is known today as Boolean Algebra, a subfield of discrete mathematics and the formal theory behind the logic gates used in modern computers, in 1854.



Hilbert (1862-1943)



Wittgenstein (1889-1951)

The Linguistic Turn "What can we *say* about the fundamental nature of reality and what we can know about it?"

Contemporary



Church (1903-1995)



Tarski (1901-1983)



Broad (1887-1971)



Turing (1912-1954)



von Nuemann (1903-1957)



Gödel (1906-1978)



Ryle (1900-1976)

Contemporary



Searle



Nagel



Dennett

Churchland





Armstrong



Kripke



Dretske

Putnam