Introduction to Philosophy

Don Berkich TR 2:00-3:15 IH-163 Fall 2017
PHIL 1301.006: Introduction to Philosophy

A philosophical introduction to the foundations of computer science.

Schedule

Please note that this schedule is tentative and authoritative: Changes may be made, but they would be made here. Thus this page supersedes any page with which it conflicts..

Tuesday, 09-05-17 Introduction: The Point of Aporia  
Thursday, 09-07-17 Plato's Apology  
Tuesday, 09-12-17 Logic I  
Thursday, 09-14-17 Logic II  
Tuesday, 09-19-17 Logic III  
Thursday, 09-21-17 Logic IV  
Tuesday, 09-26-17 Logic V  
Thursday, 09-28-17 Logic VI  
Tuesday, 10-03-17 Logic VII  
Thursday, 10-05-17 Logic VIII  
Tuesday, 10-10-17 Midterm Examination I  
Thursday, 10-12-17 Mechanism I  
Tuesday, 10-17-17 Mechanism II  
Thursday, 10-19-17 AI, Computationalism, and the Turing Test  
Tuesday, 10-24-17 Challenges & Responses  
Thursday, 10-26-17 Consciousness  
Tuesday, 10-31-17 Responses  
Thursday, 11-02-17 Midterm Examination II  
Tuesday, 11-07-17 'Ex Machina' I  
Thursday, 11-09-17 'Ex Machina' II  
Tuesday, 11-14-17 Analysis and Responses  
Thursday, 11-16-17 Autonomous Robots  
Tuesday, 11-21-17 Deep Learning Algorithms and Theorem Provers  
Thursday, 11-23-17 Thanksgiving Break  
Tuesday, 11-28-17 Big Data Challenges  
Thursday, 11-30-17 Robust Automation Challenges  
Tuesday, 12-05-17 Closing Comments  
Thursday, 12-07-17 Reading Day  
Thursday, 12-14-17 Final Examination Note wonky time: 1:45-4:15